A Far Cry with Simone Dinnerstein

A vibrant young string orchestra, an acclaimed pianist, and a new concerto by one of the nation’s most celebrated composers!
Grammy-nominated string orchestra A Far Cry was formed in 2007 by a group of string-playing music students and has since grown into an impeccable, self-conducted collective that “brims with personality” (The New York Times). The 18 members of A Far Cry, who refer to themselves as “The Criers,” have been widely successful in merging their musical perspectives through collective decision-making and rotating leadership to create innovative musical experiences of the highest quality. “In its first decade, this conductor-free ensemble has earned and sustained a reputation for top-drawer playing, engrossing programing, and outstanding guest artists” (Boston Musical Intelligencer). The Boston-based chamber orchestra’s success has led to collaborations with such greats as Yo Yo Ma, Roomful of Teeth, the Silkroad Ensemble, Vijay Iyer, and David Krakauer.
New York City-based pianist Simone Dinnerstein, praised for her “majestic originality of vision” (The Independent), joins forces with A Far Cry  to perform a bold, new work for piano and strings by celebrated composer Philip Glass. In 2017, Glass wrote Piano Concerto No. 3 for Simone Dinnerstein, who premiered the piece in Boston alongside A Far Cry to much acclaim. “Like a slowly-whirling centrifuge, Philip Glass’s beguiling new Piano Concerto No. 3 isolates and concentrates two aspects of the composer’s personality long in particularly intriguing tension: his romantic streak and his meditative austerity” (Boston Globe). The new commission will be paired with works by J.S. Bach alongside Glass’s Symphony No. 3.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 | 7:30 pm
Lensic Performing Arts Center
Tickets: $29-$110; 50% discount for students and teachers
Order by phone: 505 984 8759 or 505 988 1234

J.S. Bach—Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048
Philip Glass—Symphony No. 3
J.S. Bach—Keyboard Concerto in G. Minor, BWV 1058
Philip Glass—Piano Concerto No. 3

More information about A Far Cry: http://afarcry.org/group-bio/
More information about Simone Dinnerstein: http://www.simonedinnerstein.com/about
For interviews and photos, please contact Lily Carbone: lily@performancesantafe.org or 505 984 8759